Our family's stay in Shanghai, China

Tokyo Visit

Big hugs from Piglet!

Our family went to Tokyo because Dad had a show for work there.  Mom, Laura and I went for fun.  We had to ride several trains to get to our hotel in Tokyo.  It was crowded and it was hard with our luggage.  There were even some kids on their own riding the train home from school.  I would not like to do that.

Mom, Laura and I went to Tokyo Disneyland for three exciting days.  And exciting it was!   We went to Westernland, Fantasyland, Adventureland and Toontown.  In Toontown we got lunch, a Mickey-shaped pizza, and saw Mickey Mouse.  We saw Chip and Dale’s tree house, Donald’s ship, and Mickey’s house.  We ate maple churros and cinnamon ones, both were really good.  They were in the shape of Mickey heads which made them even better.

Going up. . . on Gadget's Go Coaster!

We rode a ride called Gadget’s Go coaster, which chugged up a hill.  Then, Whoosh! we zoomed down, up, down, up and sideways.  It was over before I thought it had even started.

In Tomorrowland, we went on a car race.  Laura won.  I was too short to drive which made me unhappy.  But Mommy let me steer a little and push the gas pedal.  Laura and I went on a spaceship ride called StarJets after that.  We rode an elevator to get to the spaceships.  We could see a long way away.  I almost felt like I was falling it leaned so far out.

In Fantasyland, Laura finally agreed to do the teacups with me, which shesaid later was a really BIG mistake because I made our teacup spin super fast.

Round and round they go!

There was a DisneySea park that we went to that was lots of fun.  DisneySea has lots of areas like American Waterfront, Mysterious Island and Port Discovery.  We rode on a two level carousel in the Arabian Coast.  That was one of my favorite rides.  Mermaid Lagoon was mostly inside which was nice on our 3rd day since the weather was cold and wet.   There was a blowfish race, a seaweed cup game, a jellyfish ride and a theatre.

The two-level Carousel was one of my favorites!

Both parks had shows and parades.  We saw a daytime parade and a colorful nighttime parade, a “Be Magical” performance and a Nighttime light show on the water that was pretty cool.  On the last day we were there we left early because it was raining.  It was so disappointing because it was our last day and we wanted to do more things.  Dad only came the 3rd day and he left early to work at the hotel.

Disney in Tokyo does not have the same kinds of food that Disney in the United States has.  Our pizza had corn on it.  We found a lot of food with rice, but I don’t really like rice.  Mommy got frustrated trying to find something I would eat.  We did find cheeseburgers, but Laura and I wanted ours with just cheese, no mustard or ketchup.  Mommy had a hard time communicating with them.  It took three different people to understand what we wanted.  We found lots of popcorn, but some flavors were weird like curry popcorn and milk tea popcorn.  They do not have cotton candy which was very, very disappointing.

I had a great time at Disney and wish we could go back soon.

Looking through the glass floor down the base of Tokyo Tower. That's our feet!

On Saturday, we took a bus tour to see a little more of Tokyo.  We went to Tokyo Tower, the Imperial Palace and a temple.  Tokyo Tower was my favorite because it was fun to go up in it.  I could see a lot of buildings.  It was different from Shanghai because there weren’t as many tall buildings.  Our tour guide said they didn’t have a lot of tall towers because they have earthquakes.

I enjoyed visiting Tokyo and would like to go back.  They were nice and very polite.  When they said hello to us, they would bow.  We started bowing to them too.  More people in Japan understood English than people in China.  Laura and I laughed at Mom because she kept saying “thank you” in mandarin to people in Japan.  They would just smile at her.

Our guide said the missing stucco on the gate house was cause by the earthquake last year.

Leave a comment